COVID-19: Council removes 5 countries and one entity/territorial authority from the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted

Next a critique underneath the advice on the gradual lifting of the temporary limits on non-important travel into the EU, the Council up-to-date the listing of countries, unique administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which vacation limitations really should be lifted. In certain, Israel, Kosovo[1], Lebanon, Montenegro, the Republic of North Macedonia and the United States of America had been removed from the record.

Non-critical vacation to the EU from countries or entities not stated in Annex I is matter to short term travel restriction. This is with no prejudice to the risk for member states to raise the short-term restriction on non-essential journey to the EU for completely vaccinated travellers.

As stipulated in the Council suggestion, this record will keep on to be reviewed on a regular basis and, as the situation might be, updated.

Dependent on the conditions and conditions set out in the suggestion, as from 30 August 2021, member states ought to progressively carry the journey constraints at the external borders for citizens of the next 3rd countries:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Hercegovina
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • New Zealand
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Ukraine
  • China, subject matter to affirmation of reciprocity

Travel restrictions really should also be progressively lifted for the particular administrative locations of China Hong Kong and Macao.

Less than the class of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognised as states by at the very least one particular member condition, journey restrictions for Taiwan really should also be progressively lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican must be regarded as as EU inhabitants for the intent of this suggestion.

The requirements to ascertain the third nations around the world for which the present journey restriction must be lifted ended up updated on 20 May 2021. They address the epidemiological situation and in general response to COVID-19, as perfectly as the dependability of the obtainable facts and data resources. Reciprocity really should also be taken into account on a case by situation basis.

Schengen linked nations (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also consider part in this recommendation.

Track record

On 30 June 2020 the Council adopted a suggestion on the gradual lifting of the non permanent limits on non-critical travel into the EU. This suggestion incorporated an preliminary listing of nations for which member states ought to start off lifting the travel limitations at the external borders. The listing is reviewed on a regular basis and, as the situation may well be, updated.

On 20 May perhaps, the Council adopted an amending suggestion to respond to the ongoing vaccination strategies by introducing specified waivers for vaccinated folks and easing the criteria to raise limits for 3rd nations. At the exact time, the amendments just take into account the attainable threats posed by new variants by setting out an emergency brake mechanism to immediately respond to the emergence of a variant of desire or issue in a 3rd region.

The Council recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the member states continue to be liable for utilizing the written content of the suggestion. They may possibly, in entire transparency, carry only progressively journey limits towards countries detailed.

A member condition should really not make your mind up to lift the journey constraints for non-mentioned 3rd countries prior to this has been made the decision in a coordinated manner.

[1] This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 (1999) and the ICJ Feeling on the Kosovo declaration of independence.