1991 Bowman Baseball Box Break, Review, Breakdown and Highlights

2022 Bowman Baseball has been unleashed and people are now frantically chasing the next big major league stars. The youngest prospects in the game now have autographs and enough color parallels to make your head spin. Are they guaranteed to be stars in the majors? Absolutely not. Is it still fun to collect prospects and follow their ascent through the minor leagues? Absolutely!

Bowman wasn’t always loaded with parallels and autograph.s In fact, the 1991 release didn’t even have inserts.

1991 Bowman Baseball is a single-series set made up of 704 base cards. That’s it. Just base cards. This set, much like today’s Bowman products, is loaded with player’s first cards. In fact, the set features 166 Rookie Cards. Now, while we aren’t chasing Lava parallels and autographs in this one, there are some nice cards to be found including Rookie Cards of Hall of Famers Jeff Bagwell, Chipper Jones, Mike Mussina, Ivan Rodriguez and Jim Thome. 

1991 Bowman Baseball Box Break

Cards per pack: 14
Packs per box: 36
Price paid: $20

Shop for 1991 Bowman Baseball boxes on eBay.

Anyone looking to try some 31 year old gum?

Pack 1 highlights:

Orel Hershiser, Rod Carew, Wade Boggs & Jack Morris

This release commemorates Rod Carew’s 1991 Hall of Fame induction. The first five cards in the set are tribute cards of Carew. 

Pack 2:

Doc Gooden & Alan Trammell

Pack 3:

Marquis Grissom, Shawon Dunston & Eddie Murray

Pack 4:

Tom Gordon, Tom Glavine, Paul Molitor, Rondell White RC, Mike Lieberthal RC & Hensley Meulens (International League Player of the Year)

All of the Player of the Year award winners in the minor leagues got their own card in the set.

Pack 5:

Bobby Bonilla, Greg Maddux & Juan Gonzalez

Pack 6:

Wally Joyner, Carlos Baerga, Raul Mondesi RC & Ryne Sandberg

Pack 7:

Mike Mussina RC, Dennis “Oil Can” Boyd, Bob Melvin, Javier Lopez RC & Barry Larkin

Moose RC! The first of, hopefully, many Hall of Fame RCs in this box.

Pack 8:

Omar Vizquel, Jose Mesa, Lou Whitaker & Colin Powell

Colin Powell threw out the first pitch on Opening Day at Yankee Stadium in 1991. 

Pack 9:

Bret Saberhagen, Doc Gooden & Sam Militello (New York-Penn League Player of the Year)

Pack 10:

David Justice, Ellis Burks & Matt Mieske (Northwest League Player of the Year)

Pack 11:

Ramon Martinez, Joe Carter & Tim Howard RC (South Atlantic League Player of the Year)

Pack 12:

Rafael Palmeiro, Shawon Dunston, Carlos Baerga & Lance Parrish

The cards featuring the foil bats in the upper left hand corner were 1990 Silver Slugger winners. 

Pack 13:

Raul Mondesi RC & Rod Carew

Pack 14:

Roger Clemens, Ryan Klesko RC & Marc Newfield (Arizona League Player of the Year)

Pack 15:

Robin Yount, Fred McGriff & Frank Bolick RC (California League Player of the Year)

Pack 16:

Julio Franco, Ryne Sandberg, John Olerud & Rickey Henderson

Henderson won the third (and last) Silver Slugger award of his career in 1990. 

Pack 17:

Tim Salmon RC & Barry Bonds

Pack 18:

Edgar Martinez, Tim “Rock” Raines & Jose Offerman (Pacific Coast League Player of the Year)

Pack 19:

Tony Gwynn, Matt Williams, Greg Vaughn & Benny Santiago

Pack 20:

Don Mattingly, Charlie Hough & Todd Guggiana (Pioneer League Player of the Year)

Guggiana won Player of the Year honors by batting .351 with four HR and 52 RBI in 66 games of Rookie ball. He never played above the AA level. 

Pack 21:

Nolan Ryan, Carl Everett RC & Rod Carew

Pack 22:

Bernie Williams, Mark Langston & Kelly Gruber

Pack 23:

Matt Williams, Greg Vaughn & Dave Parker

Pack 24:

Dave Stewart, Harold Baines, Dale Murphy, Roberto Alomar & Ellis Burks

Burks won his Silver Slugger award by batting .296 with 21 HR and 89 RBI. 

Pack 25:

Dante Bichette, Ozzie Smith, Lee Smith, Luis Gonzalez RC, Cecil Fielder & Henry Rodriguez RC (Texas League Player of the Year)

Pack 26:

Andre Dawson, Jose Canseco & another Jose Canseco

Pack 27:

Dave Winfield, Ken Griffey, Sr. & Matt Williams

Pack 28:

Randy Johnson & Rod Carew

Pack 29:

Don Mattingly & Rickey Henderson

Rickey set the all-time stolen base record with his 939th steal on May 1, 1991. He would finish his career with 1,406 stolen bases. The closest active player to Rickey’s career mark? Dee Strange-Gordon, with 333. 

Pack 30:

Dave Stewart, Ozzie Smith, Lee Smith & Bobby Thomson’s Shot Heard Round the World

Pack 31:

Barry Larkin, Vince Coleman, Will Clark, Andre Dawson & Reggie Sanders RC (Midwest League Player of the Year)

Pack 32:

Andres Galarraga & Bobby Bonilla

Pack 33:

Ken Caminiti, Mark McGwire & Darryl Strawberry

Pack 34:

John Smoltz, Paul O’Neill, Rich “Goose” Gossage, Gary Carter & Don Robinson

Pack 35:

Deion Sanders, Jay Buhner & Jeff Conine RC (Southern League Player of the Year)

Pack 36:

Alan Trammell, Eddie Murray & Rod Carew

Lastly, the Steady Eddie card back. Eddie sure did beat up on the division rival Padres and Giants!

Unfortunately, I only pulled one of the five Hall of Fame rookie cards in this one. That is tough luck for me. Sure, I could go buy them pretty cheaply, but it is much more fun pulling them from a pack yourself.

I may have to give 1991 Bowman another shot.

Shop for 1991 Bowman Baseball on:

Want more installments of Shane Salmonson’s Cheap Wax Wednesday? Check out his other breaks in the archives.